LSAT II and II Rejections

Happy New Year to You! If you are reading this, I hope that everything you desire comes true in this New Year. I want to first start off by saying that despite what’s going on the United States, remember not everyone is like the current commander in chief. Rather many people in this country can be kind, generous and accepting of others. However, when the media fuels someone’s hate by constantly broadcasting it, that very reporting can bring out the bad side of a nation. Remember that is only a small few and many of us here in the United States support those seeking safety.

This blog in my road to law school entry is about rejection and preparing for something you know you suck at. First, I’ll discuss what I suck at. I am a horrible test taker, especially standardized test. I think the reason why it is not my strong suit has to do with the fact that I always believed that if I failed this test, then that meant I was a failure in other aspects of my life. I realized it in elementary school when they told me that if you did not do well on standardized test, then you would not get in to the best high schools. So I remember being panicked out of my mind and very well I did not do as well as I could have. In high school, it was the SAT which I panicked with both and took a prep class and still did not do as well as I could have. But that did not stop me from going to college and trying my best. Now that I am in college, it is the LSAT. The test that can determine how much financial aid from the school that I am given. The first time I took the LSAT I was calm, yet deep down I was still very anxious. I was worried about that if I did not do well, then I would not be able to accomplish my goals of helping people. I just have to remember that one number does not and will not dictate how far I will go in life on Saturday.

That idea of making sure I do not put too much pressure on this score does not always ease the mind when it comes to rejections. Even though I am taking the LSAT for the second time, I have applied to all of the law schools I have a strong interest in attending, but I am still uneasy. Even though I feel greatly accomplished by applying to all of the schools, I received two rejection emails. I was sad because I thought that even though I had a low LSAT score I still had a great resume and pretty ok GPA. In no way shape or form am I perfect nor do I pretend to be, but it still hurts on the inside when you do not get into a specific school. These particular schools were not my number one which gives me hope. But there will always be that idea of doubt. However, as I continue down my road to law school I know that for one door that closes, anther and better door will open. So to the person reading this who feels rejected and do not want to take a graduate school exam, keep going, life always seems to get better when everything goes wrong, but you have to keep going to see the better.

Leave a Reply

