Road To Law School Entry 1

From as long as I can remember, I have always wanted to help people. However, I was always unsure of the career path that I wanted to take. When I was younger I thought that I wanted to be a teacher, a hair stylist, a doctor and a writer. While in high school, I believed I wanted to be a stripper because I thought school was too hard and that college tuition was too high. Since I have no upper body strength, I probably would not get far. On the other hand, I always held in mind that I wanted to help people because I felt that I could be that difference in someone’s life.

            Now that I am a college senior, I have kind of decided what I wanted to do. First, let me give you a brief overview of how I arrived at that point. When I was in high school, I contemplated the idea of what I wanted to do, I decided on law school. Why that I don’t remember. But I remember being accepted into a mock trial experience and it truly was one of the best weeks of my life. Also, during high school I did a year program at the district attorney’s office to learn about the different opportunities in the DA’s office. Still by that point I had not confirmed I wanted to go to law school. Even for my first two and a half years of college I had not really given it any consideration because I was shy, quiet and was never fully able to communicate my thoughts. However, after studying abroad I learned that I could not be afraid of failure, rather just take things one step at a time. I made it official that I wanted to try for law school after I talked to a second year law student, who was doing the 2L certification, told me to still apply although I was a little “behind” since he himself did not take the LSAT until February of his senior year and entered law school that fall. 

I know for a fact that this will not be the easiest path that I am going to take, but I am ready. I like to think of all of the opportunities as being waves in the ocean. Side note I love water, although my zodiac sign is a fire sign it truly keeps me calm. The waves in the ocean come at times when you least expect them. Sometimes they can be big or little. But one enjoys them no less. That’s how I see opportunities, as waves that are meant to be enjoyed before they are no longer there.

Leave a Reply

